Branding the unemployed

Thank god the pink-slip fashion police weren’t patrolling my neighborhood this morning or I would’ve been ticketed. I was sleeping off  the Advil PM when I woke to the sound of the garbage truck. As I was yelling “shit” (and likely other profanities), I jumped out of bed, ran to the back door and slid into my red gardening clogs. There I went, rushing down the driveway, trash can in tow, towards the curb wearing my level 1 pin-stripe house pants with blown out knees.

Now, this isn’t the first time I’ve broken the LOL club member rules relating to house pants and trash duty. In fact, I do this pretty regularly and I have received looks from a couple neighbors (that don’t yet know I am jobless ) and I know what they’re thinking as they climb into their car on their way to work  “Wow, look at that. Doesn’t she know she looks like shit?”

I am not the only jobless person who’s considered wearing a sign in order to explain why we don’t always look put together. Newsweek just did a feature on a pink-slipped father who’s not only emasculated by the fact that his wife is now bringing home the bacon while he plays Mr. Mom, but what’s worse is that when he drops his kids off at school he’s receiving strange looks from all the mothers in the other cars. And he’s sick of it and wants to make things easier for everyone to understand by stitching a “Scarlet U” on his clothing.

One new reader reported yesterday that she’s wearing a different type of branding and says that “people actually recoil in horror” after learning she’s joined the “masses of the unemployed”  as if she’s “contracted some kind of  laid-off leprosy.” She also seems to be wearing a second sign, a “Scarlet B” because she came from two of the industries responsible for taking down our economy, never mind the fact that she was on the commercial side, her potential employers don’t seem to care.

“Laid-off Leprosy”  reader, this post is dedicated to you. Today is the day that you trade in your old signs for something new. An LOL sign is a badge of honor and a slightly more positive spin on a really shitty situation. Best of luck to you.

6 Comments

Filed under Economy, Layoffs, Life, Outfitting, Slightly amusing

6 responses to “Branding the unemployed

  1. Time to take the LOL community to the next level, Keri. I suggest you devote your time (you’ve got some of that handy, right?) to developing an eye-catching monogram, or crest, for the Lords & Ladies. From there, it’s a simple step to create custom apparel through Cafe Press, and voila, you’ve got the season’s hot new fashion movement. A Members Only for the modern day, if you will.

  2. Marj

    Right! Morisseau has the right idea. Make up a logo and I’ll stitch up some LOL book bags you can sell for $20. Very useful for carrying around a stack of resumes, the newspaper (even if you “borrowed” it from someone’s trash) and other mission-critical items. And while it will make you look fashionable and mission-oriented, it will help other LOLs identify who you are! Unite!

  3. Laura

    I am a newly unemployed architect, and I don’t see it as a bad thing…more like a vacation from my working life. Granted the lack of funds is not ideal, but I am working with it to find a way to enjoy myself. It is the lack of social interaction that gets me the most! I don’t know how people can work from home – I would go bonkers!

  4. Melanie

    Perhaps you and Mr. Mom could break the news to others like so – http://www.zazzle.com/formeremployee_tshirt-235521040194899728

  5. Pingback: Topics about Plants » Archive » Branding the unemployed

  6. Pingback: Unemployment, Dr. Seuss style « Lords and Ladies of Leisure

Leave a Reply

