Field trip report

This morning I attended my mandatory orientation training at the WorkSource unemployment office on Rainier Ave.  About three or four years ago when I was laid off, I attended the same mandatory training and guess what? It’s the exact same information, only rather than being slightly useful for the job-market as it was back then, now it’s completely useless. Sweet. 

The only new information presented was the tip about using Indeed.com for job-searching online (already got that tip, thanks) and they were handing out vouches for the free training offered by Microsoft (not applicable for me, but thanks).  They didn’t stress the importance of networking – they touched on it – saying that we “should network,” but guess what –  actual networking events (attending a job fair, or doing informational interviews with warm job leads that were uncovered through networking) don’t actually count as “job-search activities.” But, if I attend a WorkSource training that’s useless, that counts. They still think that using the old-school method of applying on-line – dropping your resume into the “black hole” – works best. Totally pathetic, I guess I shouldn’t really be surprised. It was just a bit disappointing and I thought to myself – boy I’d like to work here and whip this hosed up system into shape! Complete waste of time in my opinion and now I get to attend the skills training on the 27th! Yippee!!!!!!

Maybe it was just the Rainier Ave WorkSource, but curious what other people have experienced.

4 Comments

Filed under Economy, Job search tips, Rants, Resources

4 responses to “Field trip report

  1. Foot

    I’ve been unemployed a few times. The Worksource thing is just jumping through hoops so you get YOUR unemployment compensation which YOU paid for by being a productive and tax-paying member of society. But the’re from the government and the’re here to help. Ha!

  2. Maura

    Oh, man. I’ve never been unemployed before, so I had no idea what to expect.

    I went to the same location for my orientation. Being sort of a keener, I was an active participant, actually listened, and was (foolishly) looking forward to meeting with the unemployment counselor at the end of the orientation.

    The counselor took an immediate dislike to me, though I’m a nice person, honest. She tried to find a code for my profession: corporate communications. Though I’ve been working as an employee communicator for nearly 20 years, apparently this does not exist as a profession. In their data base I am now a public relations professional. Okay, fine, I don’t mind having 20 years of work erased, no problem, I’m flexible.

    Her next advice: because I’ve held jobs for eight to 10 years at a stretch, what I really need is an interview class. Really? Really? When I asked if it was mandatory, she said, “No, but if you don’t go, you’ll be marked in your record as uncooperative.” Man, this is like my high school permanent record come back to haunt me!

    The interview class was totally depressing. The instructor, who looked like she just rolled out of a pull-tab tavern, used shouting as her preferred method of addressing the class. She would shout out potential interview questions and then point to people (always the ones in the back rows) seeking an answer.

    Instructor: “Tell me about a time when you made a mistake on the job, and what you did to address it.”

    Reply: “Well, the worst mistake I made was pulling a knife on this guy who got all up in my face when we were working on the line together. I knew I had to cool off, so I went outside to have a smoke. When I came back, the manager fired me. So, I learned not to leave the line no matter what.”

    Instructor: “Okay, so, you don’t need to use the worst mistake you ever made, just a mistake. So, in the future, use an example without the knife.”

    It went on like that for three hours. Three hours that I will never get back. I’m going to crawl into my house pants now.

  3. Foot

    Teaching these classes sounds like a cake job. No talent required. I wonder what that gig pays??????

  4. Pingback: Code of conduct for the unemployed « Lords and Ladies of Leisure

Leave a Reply

