The best job in the world

Several months ago I ran across a job posting that was being marketed as The Best Job in the World, which was basically a brilliant PR campaign and contest for the position of island caretaker for the Great Barrier Reef. I know, right? Where are these types of jobs now and why didn’t you apply, dumb-ass? Well, I didn’t apply for the obvious reason (I had what I thought was a secure job sitting on my ass at Microsoft) and after watching the winner’s application video, I’m glad I didn’t apply because I would have looked like a big ass boring loser (BABL) next to this bloke!

Ok so maybe I was underqualifed for the island caretaker position, but what about this new job posted by the U.S. Department of Labor? You think I have a shot? Comes with some cool perks like 12 weeks paid vacation and a company rocket pack. Really, the only downside to the job is the “hot-tub study” (sounds like some pretty shady shit) – but no job is perfect and beggars can’t be choosers in this job market so how do I apply?

2 Comments

Filed under In the news, Job search tips, Slightly amusing

2 responses to “The best job in the world

  1. THANK YOU ! Finally, someone knows what I am going through. I am sitting here joyfully laughing because I now know.. I am not alone in life after Microsoft!

    You left a couple of items out thought… that now you can hit up your employed friends up for that free lunch/dinner that was always promised to you. And once in a while it is ok to just have a day, not clean or do a d..n thing–know what I mean.. you should set up an ex-Microsoft potluck party..I’ll bring the bean dip. Finally, for me , I am relearning how to sew..no more $200 plus dollar dresses for me.:)

  2. sorry forgot to spell check..
    THANK YOU ! Finally, someone knows what I am going through. I am sitting here joyfully laughing because I now know.. I am not alone in life after Microsoft!

    You left a couple of items out though… that now you can hit up your employed friends up for that free lunch/dinner that was always promised to you. And once in a while it is ok to just have a day, not clean or do a d..n thing–know what I mean.. you should set up an ex-Microsoft potluck party..I’ll bring the bean dip. Finally, for me , I am relearning how to sew..no more $200 plus dollar dresses for me.:)

Leave a Reply

